Your Approach to Drum Programming?

• Thread starter toolsound
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

synrgy

Ya ya ya I am Lorde
Reaction score
Ehhh, if your computer's good enough to run S2.0 or something equally RAM-gobbling, there shouldn't be an issue with latency. I'm running 4 gigs of RAM with a 2.4GHz processor on my recording computer, so it's pretty nice but not state-of-the-art or anything!

EDIT: Come to think of it, I've used the MIDI keyboard on my 2GB RAM, 1.8GHz laptop without any issues!

It's all about the sound card. His previous issue(s) with latency probably had something to do with ASIO settings, or the lack of ASIO drivers on that sound card. I have some relatively top-notch audio PCs, and the midi latency is still gonna suck ass if I try to use DX for the audio driver.

yacker

Reaction score
There's a lot of cool info in this thread. I'm by no means an expert, but I've been doing a lot of research on this subject lately and here's my take/what I've learned about a few things.

There is a lot of discussion on making programmed drums sound human. There have been some comments about randomizing velocities, offsetting hits, slight changes in tempo, and such. I think the most important thing to keep in mind here, is that you want to be in control of all of this, not let the computer dictate your music. Personally I'm attempting to create the sound of a very solid drummer with a bit of a human feel to trick the listener vs creating the sound of a sloppy drummer that sounds human to a fault. I'd much rather have something that sounds like a machine that is serving the song then a human who doesn't know that he needs to get louder during the build ups and such. So you really have to go in and tweak these things yourself....the computer doesn't know when things need to get louder or softer or the beat needs to be in the pocket or have a loose feel.