7 String Noob

VA64

Reaction score
Hey, I'm new to seven string guitars and am looking for some advice on buying my first seven string. :p

I wanted to started playing some technical death metal, progressive metal and maybe even some djent (judge me if you want).

I was looking for an ESP LTD or Ibanez guitar because I like the specs on those guitars (stock pickups are usually EMG's or Seymour Duncan's on the nicer models) they have nice, thin neck radius', and they bodies are made of nice woods like basswood and mahogany, and they look very nice.

I was planning on tuning to standard 7 string tuning, Drop A and Drop G.

Thanks for taking the time to read this.^^
I hope someone can help. c:

Stay Metal. \m/

stevexc

Reaction score
You'll have more success tuning to Drop G on a 26.5" scale... but then again, Whitechapel does it on 25.5"s and they've got signature ESPs.

Personally I prefer ESP/LTD to Ibanez, but Ibanez does have some excellent instruments.
What's your price range, and do you have any spec preferences (hardtail vs trem, fretboard wood, etc)?

As an aside, Schecter's making some damn tasty 7s these days - the KM-7 and JL-7 might be up your alley, or anything with the SLS neck.

Oh, also neck THICKNESS and neck (actually fretboard) RADIUS are two unrelated things.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

heero22

Reaction score
I have to say that both ESP and Schecter use the same neck profiles for their guitars, however it is vastly different from an Ibanez neck. The ESP "thin C" type neck on their 7-strings are really more of a "D" profile and are nice comfortable chuck to have in your hand. The Ibanez it really thin and more shallow in its carve.