A Novel Introduction to a Fine Gentleman

sunbasket

Reaction score
Is this thing on? *tap tap*

Ahem. A-ha-ha-hem. Hey all. Name's Joel and I'm a 25-y.o. musician / level designer / artist hailing from Vancouver, Kanada.

I'm a relative noob to this community, but I've been creepin' for a few months. I stumbled upon it and thought holy shit, there's just been way too much knowledge to sort through before I start asking questions that've already been answered ;)

My musical tastes are all-over-the-place, but mostly stick to progressive and post / experimental metal. Bands like Opeth, Cynic, Meshuggah, Death, Enslaved, In Flames, Gojira, Katatonia, Agalloch... lately have checking out The Ocean and The Sound of Animals Fighting... bands like Radiohead, Rush, any kind of old/obscure prog (Emerson, Lake and Palmer), the classics, electronica is always kinda there too. But I love the guitar.

There are just too many players to admire..."industry-standard" names like Petrucci, Paul Gilbert, Vai, Buckethead, DiMeola... but then again, I think I've learned as much from amateur local shows and random talented people playing in their bedrooms to the youtube audience.

I've been playing 6-string guitar for too damn long, been in a band or two that didn't quite get to the gigging stage. I've got tons of ideas tabbed out in Guitar Pro... and am kind of embarrassed to not have had some nice recordings yet. But maybe I shouldn't feel so bad in the midst of so many ambitious people eh. I feel I'll be at the "watch-and-learn" phase here for quite a while. ;D