Amp simulator software? Any good? For me?

JustinRhoads1980

Jackson Elitist
Reaction score
I have been looking to a quieter solution to my Marshall DSL40c and I planned on getting either a Boss Katana or selling my amp, buying an EVH 5153 and using the headphone jack and use it that way.

Though I really do not feel like selling my amp and then spending upwards of $1000+ on gear that I really cannot experience it the way it should be. I do not plan on selling my amp either since there is no need to whatsoever.

I was thinking if a Amp Simulator software would be a better option? I know that a lot of people use it and get really good sounds out of it.

Though is it worth it? I am new to this stuff and don't know much about different softwares and how they work specifically.

Any tips on this?

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Metropolis

Reaction score
Get a proper audio interface and monitoring system that fits to your budget. Quality of dry DI-signal and overall gain staging is very important regarding to end result sound quality. Also keep in mind that it's a "recording tone", so it's never gonna sound like amp in a room, it sounds like a mic'd up amp coming out of studio monitors or headphones. Some people like it, some don't.

Trying out different plugins is quite deep rabbit hole, in recent 2-3 years I've tried almost all of them. Another recommendation for Kazrog Thermionik from here, or if you want a good all in one solution Overloud TH3 is pretty good... or Peavey ReValver. Pretty much a matter of taste which you end up really liking, but good enough results can be achieved with many of those. Personally I don't like too emphasized low end or un-natural feel in amp sims or cab impulses.