Can I install a coil split switch with these pickups?

ACfireandiceDC

Reaction score
Hi, everyone,

I am currently modding/restoring a badly abused Ibanez RG170 with a 5-way selector switch. The following are photos of the bridge and neck pickups. I am thinking of adding a coil split switch to the neck and the bridge pickup. Keep in mind that I am relatively new to soldering. But based on these photos, would I be able to install a switch, based on the number of wires here?

Also, I was thinking of adding a tap as well as a split, and was wondering if one switch could be used to activate both pickups or if I would need one coil split switch for each pickup. Pointers would be helpful. Thanks! :)

Attachments

• IMG_20160713_152334.jpg
    IMG_20160713_152334.jpg
    993.6 KB · Views: 57

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

bostjan

MicroMetal
Contributor
Reaction score
It should all be possible, but it depends on how complicated you want to go, and whether it's worth it or not.

You'll want to identify which wire is which, which magnetic pole is which (if you want to combine split coils and still cancel hum), and then find the switches you need.

As I said, it should totally be doable, but are you sure you want to keep these pickups?

jandro

Reaction score
looks like those pickups have 1 ground 1 hot output 1 bare... you need 4 semi-conductors to do any splitting (each semiconductor represents the start and finish of an individual coil)

you need to change the wire from 2 conductor to 4 conductor.. I wouldn't really recommend it if you're new to soldering but if you want to give it a go, here's a guide:

http://www.robchapman.tv/forum/threads/how-to-convert-2-conductor-humbuckers-to-4-conductor.28147/

For coil splitting/tapping you can look at various wiring schematics. Just google them. You can go with dpdt mini switches, or dpdt push pull pots.

Cheers.

bostjan

MicroMetal
Contributor
Reaction score