Combination of Pickups in RGA-7

iamshamik

Reaction score
Hey people! I'm from India. I recently acquired an Ibanez RGA-7 after saving up for a real long time..
eusa_angel.gif
. As most of you with the RGA-7 would know, the stock pickups are extremely muddy!!! So, I'm planning to replace them. Thing is, after buying the guitar, I'm SUPER-Broke and cannot really afford to spend on decent pickups, atleast for the time being. Good news is, my friend who's got a Prestige RG1527Z has offered me his stock bridge pickup, the Ibanez V8 pickup, which in my opinion is wayyyy better than the stock pickups of my guitar. Question is, I have active pickups on my guitar, so could someone here guide me as to what or how the circuitry should be so that I can keep the stock neck pickup of my guitar and have the V8 as my bridge pickup.
Alsao, this not being essential, can the 'Active EQ switch' be replaced with a tone control knob??
Thanks.:flame:

PS: I'm a complete noob when it comes to electronics, so a detailed explanation/diagrams would be really helpful. :flame:

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

BabUShka

Reaction score
If you dont mid active pickups, then go with Blackouts or EMG81-7 / 707.
Easy to install, no routing needed.
If you want passives, you'll have to think if a way to cover the extra cavity.. Pickup rings perhaps.. This because active 7 string pickups are usually bigger than passives.

vicpic777

Reaction score
You should put blackouts in it, I installed them in my RGA7 and it sounds like a monster, They are la little pricey but they worth it !!! It will be the best sounding guitar you'll have! For the EQ switch, you need to drill it a little because YOU ABSOLUTELY need to replace this crap... You will also have to change the battery cavity, normally it's a 3a battery, with blackouts, even emg you need to have a 9v battery, It need some work BUT it worth time and money invested !!!

iamshamik

Reaction score