Down Tuning a Short Scale??

TheUnvanquished

Reaction score
Hey everyone. This is my first post! I'm really excited about it too, as there is no forum more metal :hbang: Haha!

Anyways, I'm primarily a guitarist but want to get me a bass! I, lately, have been keeping my six string guitars in a tuning that is, essentially, Dadgad dropped down one whole step to Cgcfgc. It gives me the ability to play some really interesting chord voicings, low one finger power chords, and shredding out some lead type stuff isn't too much trouble compared to the more traditional "Drop C" or whatever.

But yeah this post is about a bass. I want a short scale to jam on, and I've been thinking that the new fender pawn shop mustang bass will do the trick. But will it? Because I'm gonna want to put it in CGCF tuning to be able to record with my guitars. Basically what I'm wondering is if anyone out there has had any success with putting a short scale bass (30" scale) into a CGCF tuning? Does it sound ok? What string gauges am I going to want to use to get enough tension?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

karlos

Reaction score
hey bro

i too am a hell new poster. i think this is number 3?

I was wondering about that too. I would say that with a short scale bass you are likely to get troubles without a setup. Ive seen shortscales tuned to B on youtube and they have been ok from memory. Also rondo music do shortscales in B. Not saying thats evidence that you will be 100% ok, but its looking hopefull. I went with a 35 inch and i found it sick to jam on hey. Es and Bs sound nice.