Drop A tuning. how do i do it?

• Thread starter Whitechapel7
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Whitechapel7

Reaction score
hey guys,

i am a little new to seven strings, i was wondering how i can tune to Drop A like Whitechapel and Suicide Silence, ive tried WAY too many times and it sounds off. Thank you all

TXDeathMetal

Lemme smang it girl!
Contributor
Reaction score
Drop A tuning... how the fuck does it work?

Seriously though assuming that you are playing a 7 is that the tuning you're after will be as follows: A E A D F# B e. If you're in standard 7 string tuning (B E A D G B e) then you'll need to tune your low B string down a full step and your G string down a half step, just use a good chromatic tuner and you're ready to roll.

heilarkyguitar

Brown note
Reaction score

Seriously though assuming that you are playing a 7 is that the tuning you're after will be as follows: A E A D F# B e. If you're in standard 7 string tuning (B E A D G B e) then you'll need to tune your low B string down a full step and your G string down a half step, just use a good chromatic tuner and you're ready to roll.
Why would you change the g to a f#?

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

jordanky

Contributor
Reaction score

This.

But if you're confused by talking about steps and whatnot, assuming you're playing a seven string in standard tuning, tune your low B string to match your (5th) A string.

heilarkyguitar

Brown note
Reaction score
This.

But if you're confused by talking about steps and whatnot, assuming you're playing a seven string in standard tuning, tune your low B string to match your (5th) A string.
Thats all i do For a drop a w/ a seven. =AEADGBE . Personly the g to F# , I dont see the reason for it. Maybe someone will tell me that.

TXDeathMetal

Lemme smang it girl!
Contributor
Reaction score