Fake Ibanez?

Reaction score
I was lurking one popular ebay-like site we have in latin america, and found out these Ibanezes which are not only published considerably cheaper than big retailers, but also look fishy. I have my reasons based on the pictures to consider them fake and I've reported them. I also wanna take active actions in spanish guitar forums to warn about these posts and user, but I'd like a second oppinion on them. Maybe I'm biased, but let me know what do you think and then I'll post again saying why I think these are fake:

Guitarra Electrica Jem 7v - Color Natural - Steve Vai - $ 3.699,99 en MercadoLibre

Guitarra Jem 7v - Espectacular! (steve Vai) - $ 3.999,99 en MercadoLibre

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Ghost40

Dude
Contributor
Reaction score
I'm no ibby expert, there are tons of guys here that could probably say for sure, but I'm not sure Ibanez made a natural 7v. At least I haven't seen any. Not to mention the "J Craft" decal looks poorly placed.

Reaction score
yeah, they never made natural jems. Fake.

First sympthom, but aside from that, imagine that could be a weird limited edition from a couple years ago.

I'm no ibby expert, there are tons of guys here that could probably say for sure, but I'm not sure Ibanez made a natural 7v. At least I haven't seen any. Not to mention the "J Craft" decal looks poorly placed.

Yeah, the "J-Craft" seal is a big fake sign.

By watching the pictures, I could notice it's fake by many signs:

- The box is cheap as fuck for that guitar. If it's a Prestige, where's the hard shell?
- The J-Craft seal while the guy says it's made in Korea. Besides, I don't know if Prestiges have that horrid seal in the back of the headstock.

- The price and specs which goes as follows:

* Body: Mahogany/Basswood
* Neck: Mahogany/Maple
* Fingerboard/Inlay: Ebony 24 frets/Pearl block
* Scale/Nut Width "/111/16"