FBD: LTD B-205SM

• Thread starter Deadpool_25
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Deadpool_25

Gearwhore no more? Nope. Still a gearwhore. :(
Reaction score
Picked up my first bass. Saw a few of these on the wall at GC a few years ago and loved the look. Then some dude was playing one and I was inspired by his playing. I didn't pull the trigger at that time but it stayed in the back of my mind and I'd occasionally look for them used locally. I had no luck until now. When this popped up I had to go for it.

Quick question from a total noob: if I want to play some stuff that's originally on 4-string in drop D, should I just tune the higher strings to DADG and leave the low string at B?

Side note: I'm guessing it'll eventually be in Drop A.

IMG_3361.jpeg

velvetkevorkian

The beat starts here
Reaction score
Quick question from a total noob: if I want to play some stuff that's originally on 4-string in drop D, should I just tune the higher strings to DADG and leave the low string at B?
That's probably the easiest way, although you might be able to keep it in standard tuning and hit the low D on the B string. I did this for years in a band with guitars in D standard.

Looks like a nice bass though, enjoy!

Crungy

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
Congrats, those are great looking and playing basses! I love their spalted tops.

I'd just tune the E down. You'll get used to playing that way and having the extra low notes below it whether you tune the 5th string to B or A.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

AkiraSpectrum

Reaction score
nice!

yes, I will echo the others here; tune your 4th string to D so you have the '4 string in drop D' vibe. It's easy to go from E to Drop D and then from B to drop A on the 5th string.

profwoot

SS.org Regular
Reaction score