Hand stress ...?

• Thread starter Black_Sheep
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Black_Sheep

Reaction score
Im still new to 7-string guitars. I got my first one (Ibanez RG1527) few months ago, but haven't had the chance to properly practise. Until now.

After a few hours of active practising and playing, my pinky finger started to feel really stressed and worn out, and playing became uncomfortable. Also, my left hand gets tired more often than before... but that i can understand.

So, any tips for "not breaking your hands while practising" ? ...Any warm-up tips or something similiar is greatly apreciated. Thanks in advantage..

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

rippedflesh89

Reaction score
sounds like you might be "cocking" your fretting hands wrist a little too much due to the extra width in the neck.. i would recommend trying to keep your fretting fingers as arched as possible and play the tips of your fingers. also, try to keep your wrist as straight as possible when playing too..

but most importantly... relax.... your number one goal when practicing shouldnt be playing fast or clean, it should be trying see how relaxed you can play everything...

relaxation is the key to comfort and comfort is the key control on the guitar... i hope this helps

beneharris

Reaction score
one thing a lot of people either forget, or don't believe is a good idea, is your cool down. if your going to do an intense practice to build up the muscles in your hands, you need to cool them off too. most people here wouldn't ever think of practicing before warming the hands up, its the same with cooling them off.
in the long run you can get a lot further in your muscle building if you do that. it will also decrease your chances of hurting them, too.
you notice runners always cool off, they don't just sit down when they are done.

emperor_black

Reaction score