Help a beginner out - my sound is not clear enough

RiksRiks

ERG Player Wannabe
Reaction score
So I have recently bought the Neural DSP Archetype Plini, I'm running it through a 3rd gen Scarlett 2i2. I'm pretty new to anything that has to do with recording and even amp sims, so I've been slowly buying the necessary gear to setup a proper bedroom studio. It's worth mentioning that I'm hearing everything through some Bose Quiet Comfort 25 with the cable adapter plugged into my interface.

So when I play the Plini as a standalone or plug in (into Garageband since I haven't downloaded another DAW yet) the sound I get is... not full? Is hard to put it into words but it sounds not so clearly defined, I cannot hear it through all of my headset, contrary to, say, the Melotron instrument simulator included in Garageband which sounds as a very HQ form of any song you hear on the internet or whatever. It sounds throughout all the headphones with all the bass, mids, and highs well defined. I guess it sounds more as if an amp was shrunk to a miniature size, and especially when playing to some drumming track in GB, the difference in the clarity of both instruments is very obvious.

I already tried tweaking the Plini and while for the cleans sometimes it sounds better (the acoustic preset sounds really good I would say) Generally anything involving distortion sounds very poorly. Not as in distortion is too much but as in clarity is not enough. I've mainly messed with the knobs in the amp sim, not the EQ bands but any recommendations are welcome. I haven't messed with the buffer size since I don't have a clear idea of what to do and what to expect.

I've tried with several of my guitars with several types of pickups and I always get kind of the same result. I think I may not be using the plug-in properly?