Help me piece together a decent recording rig

broj15

Reaction score
So I'll go ahead and start by saying that I'm a total recording noob (been a part of the process a few times, but my knowledge of equipment is very limited). That's where I'm hoping you guys can help. My band is looking to record our material and would rather do it ourselves, but first we need to get some gear.

Here's the situation: We're a 3 piece (guitar, bass, and drums). I run 2 amps in stereo and our bassist plans to DI with his Tech 21 Sansamp. Ideally we would like to record live as a band. We've secured a large enough space that we can spread out in to keep the sound from bleeding over (ie. drums getting picked up by the mics on my cabs or vice versa) so I don't think recording live will be an issue. Our sound is pretty raw & noisy so it's ok if it sounds a little "lo-fi" as long as each individual instrument can be heard and the heavy parts hit hard. I know that's more dependent on how it's mixed vs. how it's recorded, but I also know it's tough to get a good mix when the raw tracks suck.

Now, here's what we already have:

-Vocal Mics. Nothing amazing. It's better than something from radio shack. It's definetely not a $100+ mic, but it serves it's purpose and all our vocals are harsh so having a really expensive mic probably won't matter much.

- Drum Mics (2 overheads for toms & cymbals, 1 kick, and 1 snare). There again, nothing amazing, but not the bottom of the barrel either.

-Mac Book Pro with Garage Band. I know GB isn't the best as it's options are limited, so I'm open to suggestions for different software.

- Our sweet, beautiful selves, and our gear that seems to constantly be fvcking up :lol:

And here's a list of everything I think we might need (not including mic stands & cables, which we already have, but might need a few more):