Many Beginner luthier questions

Jzbass25

Reaction score
Hey guys, I have a few questions regarding building my own instruments. I have always been a diy sort of guy and I have been itching to do a build but I am very new to building instruments still so I need some advice.
These questions aren't really in any order but these are all my ideas/questions and I have done much research on this topic but I want more firsthanders helping me out especially since you guys probably know how to do this on the cheap pretty well; however, even with the research that I've done (off and on for years now) I still feel clueless sometimes.
Also I'm going to use colors to break up the text so it is less taxing.

I apologize for my naiveness, stupid questions and longevity of this post. But you have to start somewhere.

First I want to review the tools:

For a guitar body (solid) the tools I have been looking at is a router, jigsaw, drill press and of course a normal power drill with an assortment of bits. For adding tops you need some clamps and glue. *also spokeshave for tummy cuts and such.

Can I have some recommendations on brands/models for these tools? I want to keep it as cheap as I can but I want them to work well. Also can you do cavities just fine without a drill press or does it make the process more difficult?

Also what is the best way to get an edge around the cavities so that I can have a lip to screw the cavity covers on. (ex. would I cut the route first and then go around that cavity with a short router bit and make a lip)

Also how do you make the neck joint and how do you decide how deep the neck should sit in the body and how much curve should the neck joint get and which tool suits that task best (AANJ is probably the only style I want)