Martin DRS1 vs DRS2

• Thread starter guy in latvia
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

guy in latvia

Reaction score
So I've always wanted a Martin (also cuz its my name :D ) and these two seem like the only ones I can afford. Are they actually worth the money? How are they soundwise?

Would you recommend something else?

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

MaxOfMetal

Likes trem wankery.
Super Moderator
Reaction score
I'd look at the available options from Breedlove, Seagull, or Yamaha in that price range, much better quality from what I've played.

I've had some pretty bad experiences with sub-$1k Martins, pulling tops, loose bridges, poor/sloppy bracing, just overall not very well made considering the price tag.

If you really want a Martin, save up and grab at least a D-16GT. Though, once you hit that range even more awesome acoustics are available.

guy in latvia

Reaction score
Hmm, that's sad news. What would you recommend since I don't have any mid range acoustics available around here, mostly low end stuff for high prices? I want a full/woody sound, fast neck, low access, and a good pickup in it.

MaxOfMetal

Likes trem wankery.
Super Moderator
Reaction score
Hmm, that's sad news. What would you recommend since I don't have any mid range acoustics available around here, mostly low end stuff for high prices? I want a full/woody sound, fast neck, low access, and a good pickup in it.

What brands do you have regular access to?

Anything in the $1k+ range from Yamaha, Taylor, Breedlove, Alvarez, Seagull, Takamine, Ovation, and even Ibanez should do fine. It really depends on how much you're willing to spend, if you're okay with going used, and what overall attributes you want the guitar to have.

From the sounds of it you want a larger bodied (D or bigger), modern acoustic electric with a quality electronics package.