Mix brightness help

• Thread starter omgdrdoom
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

omgdrdoom

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm relatively new to the mix/master process (just a couple of months in) and I'm working on some tracks that are tough to define an exact subgenre, I'd say blackened heavy metal best describes it. I feel like it sounds decent but it's too bright of a sound overall. I've tried reamping guitars with a darker tone, using different drum samples, soaking the vocals in reverb/delay, and adjusting faders and track EQ quite a bit. Everything is still fairly bright overall and doesn't give the "dark" sound we're going for.

Without any audio samples, is there any advice I can get on tips and tricks for darker mix tones? Thanks in advance!

c7spheres

GuitArtist
Reaction score
Mostly what yo uput in is what you get out. GEt teh best tracks you can first and do genderal levels. If it's good with minor things then maybe start mixing, but if it ain't godo right off the bat then back to the drawing board. It seems impossible and can take a lot of time and energy but its worth it in the long run. Sounds like from what you're saying go back to drawing board and work more on your sounds, tones and levels.

GunpointMetal

Reaction score
Hi all! I'm relatively new to the mix/master process (just a couple of months in) and I'm working on some tracks that are tough to define an exact subgenre, I'd say blackened heavy metal best describes it. I feel like it sounds decent but it's too bright of a sound overall. I've tried reamping guitars with a darker tone, using different drum samples, soaking the vocals in reverb/delay, and adjusting faders and track EQ quite a bit. Everything is still fairly bright overall and doesn't give the "dark" sound we're going for.

Without any audio samples, is there any advice I can get on tips and tricks for darker mix tones? Thanks in advance!