My death metal album got 4,400 streams on Spotify in one week and here's how I did it

CLAYSHAPER

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
I consider the release of my debut album "Vampiric" a success. I am a bedroom musician working alone, as many of us are, writing, recording, producing, releasing and promoting music all by ourselves. The tips I've read about promotion are rarely that good or simply outdated. That's why I want to share some concrete advice everyone could have some use for.

The stats
During the first week my album got 4,400 streams on Spotify and 2000 streams on Bandcamp in the app. 61 fans decided to purchase the album for a price they found fair and 171 downloaded it for free. I earned around $200 just from sales.

1654456727450.png
Pictured: Spotify stats.

The hard truth
Nobody gives a shit about you or your 'new' music. Making good music is just the bare minimum of getting any attention at all. 2022 people are very, very, focused on the visual aspect of whatever you're trying to promote. Pure music is neither visual nor easy to access as most people on their phones won't put in headphones or start the sound just for some random guy. Good music can spread by itself, but it's so rare it's almost a myth at this point. But there are ways getting around this.

Social Media presence
My main channel of communication is Instagram. I've found that by using hashtags, following and talking to interesting people and releasing simple videos of me performing my music is the best way to reach out. Battling the algorithm is much harder on Twitter and Facebook, even though sharing links is easier on those platforms. I focus all my energy on Instagram, cross post everything on Facebook, copy paste and shorten for twitter and release longer, high quality content for Youtube to promote my music. If I have vertical video of a performance I will post it on IG Stories, TV, Reels, Youtube Shorts and TikTok.

Getting around it