New guitar choicing: agile vs schecter.

AStarlitNathan

ss.org Spammer
Reaction score
Finally got the money to get a new (err, first) 7. And with my budget and options in mind I've narrowed it down to either a used Schecter Black Jack ATX C-7 FR (in white satin) or an Agile Interceptor pro 727 (in natural satin)

I've always been an ESP/LTD loyalist, but I'm not really a fan of the Stephen Carpenter sig's nor the H-307's (if they had an extended scale, maybe...or atleast the in-line headstock...if only I could find an old red MH-307) so sadly they were out of the race for me.

Anyway, I've had limited experience with both companies. Always been biased against Schecter because they seem a bit overpriced, and the old Black Jack c-6 I had years ago (before I really knew what I wanted) always had electronic issues, but my room mates c-8 seems pretty nice... and the c-7 is in my price range.

My band mate has an Agile intercptor 727 as well, and I dig it. But I've always heard that Agile has no quality control, so I'm a bit weary.

I plan on replacing the pickups with Bare Knuckles down the road, regardless.

I'm completely neutral and need some nudging in one direction. plzhelpkthx.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Jason_Clement

Reaction score
I'm a fan of the new Schecter SLS series.

One thing to consider with Agile though is longer scale profiles. Something like a 728 has a 28.6(?) scale length, which is fucking awesome imho.

broj15

Reaction score
I have never played an agile, but I have played the schecter (hardtail version, not the fr) and I was pleased. It played good, but it didn't really wow me. I wish it did because I was able to get some really nice tones out of it.

Since you live in the US don't worry about getting a dud from Agile. Their return policy is pretty solid for domestic customers.

AStarlitNathan

ss.org Spammer
Reaction score