NGD: A Strat dream come true

atimoc

deus ex machina
Contributor
Reaction score
My first guitar was a cheap strat knockoff, and partly because of that I've been wanting a quality Stratocaster ever since I started playing. Initially my #1 choice was a Jimmie Vaughan signature model, but since I couldn't find one used around here, I started looking for other second-hand alternatives, and now I'm happy I did, since consequently I stumbled upon this. Behold!

strat1.jpg

What the hell is it then? Most of Fender strats look so much alike that it's hard to tell a MIM standard from a MIA custom shop model by just looking at pictures. It's a MIJ '62 reissue with an F serial number, which dates it back to 1986-1987. However, some of those originally vintage-ish features have been pimped slightly:
-Vintage frets replaced by medium jumbos
-Trem block switched to a bigger one
-Pickups switched to Fender Tex-Mex
-Second tone pot replaced by a Fralin blender pot

strat2.jpg

strat3.jpg

strat4.jpg

strat5.jpg

I'm really digging this one. The body has been beat to shit as you can see, but on certain guitars that looks really good. I think single-color Fenders are some of them, then again for example PRS 10-tops are not :lol: The neck is in great condition though, and I definitely appreciate the medium jumbo frets even though they kill most of the collector value of the guitar. Never been a huge fan of the really small vintage frets as far as playability goes. I'm not sure if the Tex-Mex pickups would be my ultimate choice, but they're good at what they do, i.e. rock, rock and more rock. For more mellow tones something else in the neck position might work better.