[NGD]Iron Label 8 String/Questions!

• Thread starter vkw619
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

vkw619

Inspired Beginner
Reaction score
Hey guys. New to the forum (for the most part). I have been listening to many of my favorite bands and been experimenting with some new ones. I'm mainly a drummer (not a good one) and I own 2 6's and a 7 (RG7321 with Blackouts in it currently) and I decided to pick this bad boy up. Got him for a good deal along with a Line 6 Spider 4 150Watt combo (datmeshuggatone) and I'm loving it. I was curious as to know if anyone has some good songs on 8's for complete newbs? Been learning Acacia Strain stuff so anything like that is great with me. Even some simple Djent riffs would be nice!

Reason I got this guitar (other than the great deal) were mainly due to the fact that I constantly kept downtuning my 7 to F and back to A# to play riffs by my favorite bands and mimic 8 Strings. Needless to say, didn't work to well.

Here are some terrible pics for your pleasure

2pocpad.jpg

240yf68.jpg

254zqer.jpg

2zgb12t.jpg

5nlun9.jpg

I am not sure how I feel about the 808s so far. They are pretty muddy on the low end, but I think it might be due to the string gauge being pretty low stock (even though it comes in Drop F when you receive it) but I've heard people can't fit a .74 into the tuning peg, does anyone have any links to instructions on how to file it down to make it fit?

Thanks guys!
Sorry for the bad quality photos. I just got back from work and decided to ask some questions and show off the new guitar!

simonXsludge

(((Ω)))
Reaction score
First of all, happy NGD!

Try the EMG808X series, they are not as muddy on the low end and sound great in general. More passive-like, sort of.

I noticed something in your photos: