Programming Drums

• Thread starter r3tr0sp3ct1v3
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

r3tr0sp3ct1v3

Reaction score
My biggest hangup with home recording is doing drums. I have Getgood and have come up with some stuff. I also used to use samples and program in FL studio. I am still learning but jesus this is not fun and I don't know if I am even getting it right.

Any tips on pushing through this learning process? What DAW's do you use? What is easiest way to map drums?

budda

Do not criticize as this
Contributor
Reaction score
Following.

I plan to scour youtube tutorials as well.

Save templates.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

nickgray

Reaction score
What DAW's do you use? What is easiest way to map drums?

I largely still compose in Guitar Pro, but the overall method is applicable to a piano roll - start very-very simple, and work your way up. Decide on the note length first - quarter notes, eighths, sixteenths, triplets, whatever, just make sure you understand what you're doing theory-wise. Next, place kicks and snares in as simple a way as possible, unless you have something in mind. Fill in the ride/hats, maybe add some extra kicks or snares if you feel like it. Then add some basic cymbals - maybe start every other bar with a cymbal of some sort (alternate between different cymbals). Next, come up with some basic fills and spice things up a tad, maybe at the end of the 2nd bar do a snare roll, and at the end of the 4th some toms.

Basically, don't try to write something crazy and cool straight away, start with something very simple and add things little by little. It's surprisingly effective. And don't forget that octopuses don't play drums, drummers have at most 4 appendages with which to play.

FL studio