Thoughts on online classes?

• Thread starter 14drz
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

14drz

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
Hello!
So I really want to start taking guitar lessons because I’m a self taught and I want to improve and be a way better guitarist. The problem is that I don’t know if I can start taking face to face lessons due to personal reasons right now so I was considering distance classes online, as a friend suggested. I’m kinda skeptic about it since guitar is a practical thing and maybe it needs a particular attention and to be done in presence. I don’t know what to do, maybe a little is better than none but I don’t want to waste my money in something that is not useful at all. What do you think? Is it worth it?

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

budda

Do not criticize as this
Contributor
Reaction score
gonna say it depends way more on the teacher, regardless of in person or online. And if you dont do work on your own outside of the lessons, you wont get nearly as much out of them.

Reaction score
^ THIS. Teaching is only part of it, most of the work MUST be done by the student. The teacher, however, must be good/sensible/emphatic enough to understand the student's needs and problems in order to correct and guide the student to successful learning and progress.

Again, this is all good if you give TIME to study. Not doing so, it really doesn't matter if you're having online or face to face lessons...

... so, before paying, do talk with the teacher and be clear about your expectations and problems and ask for examples of what the teacher can deliver to you.

Gtan7

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
This can work well, not sure if you're just gonna watch videotaped sessiosn or it's going to be zoom or interactive, or you're going to video yourself and seld to teacher for feedback, lots of ways to do it

manyears

SS.org Regular