Writing and playing within your skill level

• Thread starter Stephenar19
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Stephenar19

Reaction score
Partially for advice, partially just for the sake of discussion, but how do you all handle writing music that's within your skill level and ability?

I've been playing guitar fairly consistently for about 15 years now, but the fact of the matter is that I'm just not as good as I'd like to be. I can hear the riffs that I want to play in my head and I can come up with some interesting ideas, but it almost always results in me playing right at the edge of my skill level. This leads to inconsistent takes when recording which can quickly become a nightmare when trying to double track or god forbid quad+ track.

Of course I can dial down on my tempo, forego techniques that I haven't mastered, and use simpler timed riffs that I can record more reliably, but that usually results in music that I think sounds bland and uninspired.

I imagine this gap exists for just about everyone out there, so for those of you who make your own music, how do you manage it? Do you have any tips on making "easier" passages more exciting? Do you use editing tricks to fudge parts that you don't have down pat?

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

RevDrucifer

Reaction score
I spent 6 hours last week trying to get one pass at a riff I wrote that’s clean enough to keep as a take. Then I have to double it. It’s still not ’there’, so I’m going to keep at it until it is.