Amp advice

Xenos0176

Reaction score
I've been playing guitar for 6 years now but i still don't know a whole lot about amps. I have a
Crate FlexWave Series FW120HS 120W Half-Stack

, but the head keeps breaking and i have to send it in to get it fixed again. I paid $500 for the stack, i'm considering getting a new head or a new half stack. My friend said buying a tube head would be a good idea, but i'm only finding 100W heads for like $900 and 15W heads for $500. what is going on here? I don't have the biggest budget, probably getting something used would by the best but im not sure what, how big and how much it'll cost

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Mettle209

Reaction score
These are some questions that may help narrow down your search:

1. Your maximum budget amount?
2. What you plan to do with your amp? Do you plan to gig (bedroom, small, medium, large and/or stadium venues)?
3. What type of tone (Marshall midrange crunch, Mesa scooped mid metal, EVH, maybe somewhere in between, or all of the above and more, etc.) are you after and what type of music you mainly play?
4. Do you prefer versatiliy in an amp or just a one trick pony that does what you want it to do well? One channel, two channel, three channel, or more? Depending on your needs?

My Advice:

1. Used (in good working order) All Tube Head
2. Used 2x12 Cabinet (Good for any size venue without the weight and size of a 4x12)
3. Give it a few years or so and when you truly know what you reallly really want, you can buy new if possible. Keep in mind that new gears will deppreciate (there are exceptions) and you will normally not get your full or not even 3/4 investment back.
4. Check the amps that your favorite band uses. If they have the tone you like, go for it and get one if possible. Otherwise, you will always find yuorself not fully satisfied with anything else.