Help for a first "guitar" attempt

J-Fender7

The Son of Fender
Reaction score
Hey everyone, as you can see, I'm pretty new at posting here. Long time lurker to this majestic place, but I need some help. (I apologize in advance for the long post).
To start this off, this is merely a concept that I want to attempt in the future, and it could be a few months before I start this off (due to school and money).
I've been playing guitar for around 5 years (Love my 7's, btw :shred: ) and lately I've been very curious about getting into luthiery. My dad has a garage full of woodworking tools, so I am pretty set. I know quite a bit because of my lurking, and I had an idea of a first build. I want to start off small with something somewhat "expendable" that can end up not super great, and I'm not destroying my bank account.
I saw the video of the guitarist for After the Burial playing the "Djentstick" (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhOYflyfOPM) and I thought that might be a super easy starting point for me.
My idea that came from it is pretty simple but i think it could be awesome. I want to make a single string guitar, like the djentstick, but as if it were a full guitar. My first ideas for it are:
Rhodes V shape? (Ive always wanted a rhoads v :hbang: )
28" scale
single string tuned to Low F (like the lowest on an 8 string)
24 frets
single bass tuner
single string bridge piece
active pickup?
single volume knob

The reason i'm posting is for some guidance. I have a lot of questions, I am literally brand new to all of this. The point of this build is to gain experience for my first real guitar build. I am not looking to make a super high quality instrument, so I'm looking for somewhat cheap parts to do this.
So my parts related questions start with: