need a good 5 string bass for 1175$ and less

• Thread starter shalev98732
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

shalev98732

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
so im in a megadeth tribute band, and stupid me forgot i need 5 string bass for the youthansia songs, ive been thinking of schecter, sire or ibanez. dont have the cash to spend more than that amount

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Crungy

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
If you go Ibanez you could get a multiscale Soundgear in that range, or any number of other Soundgears. Or for a more thrash look an RGB 5 string and save a ton of cash.

I have no experience with Schecter or Sire basses but I've always heard good things. If you have time to try stuff out, you'd have a lot of options since youre not tuning super low.

shalev98732

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
If you go Ibanez you could get a multiscale Soundgear in that range, or any number of other Soundgears. Or for a more thrash look an RGB 5 string and save a ton of cash.

I have no experience with Schecter or Sire basses but I've always heard good things. If you have time to try stuff out, you'd have a lot of options since youre not tuning super low.
i dont really like multiscales since i do chords on bass too

MaxOfMetal

Likes trem wankery.
Super Moderator
Reaction score
Music Go Round and GC Used are your friends.

You can find Standard line Warwicks, Deluxe and Player Plus Fenders, and some of the better contemporary Ibanez SR/BTB and Schecter stuff for your budget.

Crungy

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
I hear you, it can get weird on higher registers though the fan is pretty small on those vs a Dingwall. That said, the adjustment period is usually pretty fast.

I'd think most regular 34 or 35" scale basses should do well for you and if you branch out on brands definitely give Warwick a look as @MaxOfMetal said.

shalev98732