Online lessons for intermediate players?

• Thread starter bloodjunkie
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

bloodjunkie

Reaction score
I've been playing for 17 years but probably stopped progressing in skill/knowledge about 10 years ago and have always just learned everything by ear... I can tell you what a 4th or 5th is, all the major/minor chords/keys and the minor pentatonic scale and that's about it... are there any good youtube channels or sites that don't talk to you/treat you like you're a beginner but just get to the point if you know what I mean? Good warm up exercises would be appreciated too. Thanks!

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Stilicho

Reaction score
I've been playing for 17 years but probably stopped progressing in skill/knowledge about 10 years ago and have always just learned everything by ear... I can tell you what a 4th or 5th is, all the major/minor chords/keys and the minor pentatonic scale and that's about it... are there any good youtube channels or sites that don't talk to you/treat you like you're a beginner but just get to the point if you know what I mean? Good warm up exercises would be appreciated too. Thanks!
Troy Grady's website is incredible for working on your picking technique and understanding picking mechanics, can't recommend it enough.

On YouTube, Signals Music Studio is good and I'm also a big fan of Chandler Guitar's lessons on the modes of the major scale.

In terms of theory the book "Jazz Guitar: Complete Edition" by Fisher is very direct and easy to learn from. It's not an online resource, but still worth checking out if you want to learn more chord fingerings, harmony and improvising techniques.

There's just a few I know of, hopefully there's something you'll find useful.

Drew

Forum MVP
Reaction score