Will I have to file my nut? 11-70s

sevenstringdjentman

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
I recently bought a stringjoy 11-70 set of strings, I know that you cannot know for sure, but, in general, will i have to file it? I can't afford a tech and can't afford to replace this guitar if I mess it up.

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

nickgray

Reaction score
I can't afford a tech and can't afford to replace this guitar if I mess it up

Why would your replace a guitar if you mess up a nut?

will i have to file it?

I'm guessing that since you don't have the money for the tech, you don't have the money for the files either. You can just widen the slots by lightly pulling the string back and forth through the slot, it should move quite smoothly inside. Then, if you like the string gauges, go to the tech.

nickgray

Reaction score
Because I'm a noob that doesn't know what hes talking about lmao

The nut is a serviceable and replaceable component, it's lightly glued to the side of the fretboard. The actual "guitar" is the hunk of wood that is the body, and the hunk of wood that is the neck. If it's a bolt-on, the neck is easily replaceable too. Frets are replaceable, and even the fretboard can be unglued.

sevenstringdjentman

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
The nut is a serviceable and replaceable component, it's lightly glued to the side of the fretboard. The actual "guitar" is the hunk of wood that is the body, and the hunk of wood that is the neck. If it's a bolt-on, the neck is easily replaceable too. Frets are replaceable, and even the fretboard can be unglued.
Would widening the nut with the string make it impossible to put smaller strings on? Sorry if this is a stupid question.

TheBlackBard

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
Would widening the nut with the string make it impossible to put smaller strings on? Sorry if this is a stupid question.