Custom SS guitar amp build!

mgcasella

Reaction score
I found someone locally (a guy named Tom) who will build a ss guitar amp for me and I am psyched :hbang:

Last week I met with Tom and we ironed out all the details of the amp. Upon meeting, he realized that my design was a little more complicated than he thought (I wasn't able to communicate all that I wanted clearly via email because I'm not an electronics engineer). In a few days, Tom should be getting back to me and, hopefully, we'll be ordering the parts pretty soon.

Tom said this whole project should take about one month so I'll keep everyone updated on the progress :yesway:

This site may earn a commission from merchant links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

poopyalligator

Dr.Poopyalligator
Reaction score
Wow that is awesome. I have never heard of anybody getting a custom solid state amp before. Cant wait to see the progress.

snuif09

Reaction score
thats cool man =)

next year i will be starting my electronics course cause i want to build custom amps as well (tubes and ss) its kind of a small market but seeing your amp almost makes all your tone i dont get why you shouldn't have one custom build and get a guitar custom instead.

Wookieslayer

OOOAAARWWWRR
Reaction score
Always dreamed of doing this myself but don't have the knowhow or money :lol:

Good luck, keep us updated

mgcasella

Reaction score
Thanks for the encouragement, guys! :hbang:

I sent an email to Tom today so, hopefully, we'll be meeting soon to discuss progress, the final design, etc.

I will keep everyone updated :metal:

mgcasella

Reaction score

Good question :lol:

Here are the features so far:
-The design is based off a few common favorite ss amps that are specifically good for METAL (such as the Ampeg VH-140C [LOOSELY, that is]) plus the addition of extra controls and features (such as a "Depth/Resonance knob)
-100 watts